In His Word
"Your word is a lamp to my feet and a light to my path." – Psalm 119:105

Lev 26 – conditional blessings and curses

1Mon - history

While some people talk about God’s unconditional love, He is still very much a conditional God.  He often presented conditions in His word.  One great example is in Leviticus 26.  At the beginning of the chapter He listed conditional blessings when He said, “If you walk in My statutes and keep My commandments so as to carry them out, then I shall give you rains in their season, so that the land will yield its produce and the trees of the field will bear their fruit.” (:3-4).  The list continues through :13.

Then God presented conditional curses when He said, “ ‘But if you do not obey Me and do not carry out all these commandments, if, instead, you reject My statutes, and if your soul abhors My ordinances so as not to carry out all My commandments, and so break My covenant, I, in turn, will do this to you: I will appoint over you a sudden terror, consumption and fever that will waste away the eyes and cause the soul to pine away; also, you will sow your seed uselessly, for your enemies will eat it up.” (:14-16).  The list continues all the way to :39.

Toward the end of the chapter God again approached the condition from a positive view when He said, “’If they confess their iniquity and the iniquity of their forefathers, in their unfaithfulness which they committed against Me, and also in their acting with hostility against Me—… then I will remember My covenant with Jacob, and I will remember also My covenant with Isaac, and My covenant with Abraham as well, and I will remember the land.” (:40-42).

God still offers conditions for us today.  As Paul expressed it in Romans 11:22, “Behold then the kindness and severity of God; to those who fell, severity, but to you, God’s kindness, if you continue in His kindness; otherwise you also will be cut off.”  If you fall from God and turn from His word, then you will experience the curses of His severity.  If you continue in faithfulness to Him, then you will experience the blessings of His kindness.  The conditions are that simple.  Which will you choose?

Have a great day in His word!

No Responses to “Lev 26 – conditional blessings and curses”

Leave a Reply

