In His Word
"Your word is a lamp to my feet and a light to my path." – Psalm 119:105

John 3 – “I must decrease”

4Thu - Gospels

When John began his ministry and some asked, “Who are you?” – maybe the Christ, Elijah, the Prophet – he said, “I am a voice of one crying in the wilderness, ‘Make straight the way of the Lord,’ as Isaiah the prophet said.” (John 1:19-23).  The next day when he saw Jesus coming he said, “Behold, the Lamb of God who takes away the sin of the world! … I myself have seen, and have testified that this is the Son of God.” (1:29, 34).  The following day John encouraged two of his disciples – one of them being Andrew, Simon Peter’s brother – to follow Jesus (1:35-40).  He had prepared the way for Jesus, and now Jesus was here.  John served as “the friend of the bridegroom” – with Jesus being the bridegroom – and rejoiced at His coming (3:29).  Now it was time: “He must increase, but I must decrease.” (3:30).  John was later imprisoned and beheaded (Matthew 14:10), but that was OK – his purpose had been fulfilled.

John knew his purpose in life and was content with the role God had for him, without trying to be someone he wasn’t (1:20-21) and willing to submit to another (3:30).  How about you?  Do you know who you are – and who you’re not?  Are you willing to submit to others?  God has a special role for each of us to fill.  Fill yours.

Have a great day in His word!

No Responses to “John 3 – “I must decrease””

Leave a comment